Dollar Tree Experience

En route to the dentist office yesterday I noticed a store on the far south side of Chicago and made a mental note to stop by there on my way home. It was close by so I decided to return a bunch of supplies we had purchased for our students behind-the-scenes radio/tv/print production at the HigherLearningNetwork.org

When I got out the car, I thought it strange a young man standing in front of the store looking down at his cell phone. (It was FREEZING COLD outside) Was he cell dead? Was he waiting on someone? Questions in my head didn’t linger long, as I continued walking into the store. Inside the store I ran into an old skate buddy, Chris, who is an ex-marine!

We chatted for a few minutes because I had not seen him in a year or so. We used to play bidwhist (card game similiar to Spades or Bridge) and all the fun we used to have playing. As we walked down the aisles, he even pointed out a few items we might need. Very helpful and protective like a big brother. He even asked if my husband needed coffee, as we walked down the aisle.

Because we needed lots of paper towels, tissue, boxes of kleenex, and other items including household items, my cart filled up pretty quickly! Big items take up a lot of space. So it may have appeared to someone that I had a pocket full of money because my cart was packed to the top. Little did they know I didn’t, only returning items.

As I was leaving the store, a young man was behind me. I paid him no attention. Chris was paying attention! He walked to his car, putting his bags in his cars and came back to my car and grabbed me by the hand with the stern look of a sargent and said to me, “Zelda, GET IN YOUR CAR AND LEAVE!! NOW!! Wow! I was shocked!

My conversation with the young lady who was standing outside the door of Dollar Tree telling me her story of how she was here from Columbus, (2 months pregnant with the father in jail), ended at that moment. I wondered why he was so abrupt, but I followed his lead. He told me he would call me as I drove off! I got in my car and left. He called me immediately and told me that I was being set up to for something to bad to happen. He insisted that the young man who was standing outside (the store) when we first went in the store, along with the pregnant girl, and another fellow who followed us out the store, were all together!

He insisted I was about to become a statistic, as he stayed behind for a moment to be sure they weren’t driving and wouldn’t try to follow me. Luckily he said they were walking, as he watched the walking down the street. Wow! What an adventure! What a friend!

So ladies and gents, when you’re out there shopping, be VERY AWARE of your surroundings! As a country girl who talks to everyone she meets, (because I was raised that way in the south, where you’d get popped upside the head if you didn’t speak to people. Chris recognized the GAME! I didn’t because I am so trusting! I still am, but from a distance. Lesson here, be very aware of your surroundings when out and about.

There are so many car jackings, robberies etc, that we must protect ourselves, even if it means not talking as much. I always know that I am divinely guided and protected and my Travel Angels are always with me, but it’s a good thing to be AWARE!

My husband Tony is an ex-CHA Policeman and tells me all the time that I am too trusting and I talk to much! Well, after today, not so much! I probably won’t stop taling to people, but I will be more aware of my surroundings. I can’t stop being who I am, but I can protect myself by being aware! You should too! Be mindful. It could save your life. (Chris said they could have easily stuck a gun in my back shoved me in the car or taken the car.)

Chris says, “Zelda, I recognize game! You were being played upon! KNOW THAT!”

I Trust the power of what the Universe has in store for me. I am very GRATEFUL my Travel Angel for the day, was my friend Chris! Thanks Chris for being by Travel Angel!

#mindfulness matters #stressRelief #travel #angels #ZeldaSpeaks

About zeldaspeaks

International Speaker/Trainer/Author/StressOlogist, teaching how all relationships (home/work/play) can influence your mental/physical health with the Mindfulness/StressRelief Training, and weekly radio/tv broadcast on YouTube.com/HigherLearningTvShow and BlogTalkRadio.com/the-female-solution. She has spoken around the world since 1997 in the UK (London England) Nairobi Kenya, (East Africa) Johannesburg (South Africa) as a member of the National Speakers Association, The National African American Speakers Association,& The American Society of Training & Development. Retired Broadcaster (Gospel Radio 1390AM/WGCI, V103/WJPC/WNUA/WSSD/WCPT/WJPC/WCRX/WNUA) with a passion to teach youth about the business of radio via HigherLearningNetwork.org Had to pivot during COVID, resulting in the Global Virtual Teen Talent Contest! (YouTube.com/HigherLearningTvShow) Part of her journey includes an audio program that helped her healing process after a near fatal accident in 2013, where she had to stop working to recover. This ACCIDENT was a blessing in disguise because it led her to healing her mental wounds as well as physical disability she now experiences daily. It helped her overcome mental, physical and emotional damage, in which she produced an AUDIO program to help others, entitled (1)The Innovative Mindfulness Breakthrough System. She is Author of over 12 books/ebooks on Career/Personal Development, including the popular book shared by Troi Tyler on V103 FM Radio in Chicago, (2/3) N'Spirational Conversations Vol. 1 &2, (4)The Passion Principles: Pathways to Purpose, Power & Profit, (5)How To Self Publish in 30 Days, (6) Date Rate, Checkmate, (7)STRESS REDUCTION HOME PRACTICE MANUAL (8) StressRelief Home Training Manual (9)How To Eliminate Worry! (10) Learn How to trust your intuition 11. Mindfulness-techniques-to-divert-stressors 12. I Knew I Should've Followed My First Mind! (Relationships, etc.)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment